Close this search box.

Who Will Win PFA Player Of The Year?

Image by Kelvin Stuttard from Pixabay

As the 2020/21 Premier League season comes to an end, we look at which players are the front-runners for this year’s prestigious award.

After what could be known as quite possibly the most unique Premier League season in history, it is once again time to speculate the winner of this year’s PFA award. Each team has had a rather surprisingly lousy run of form at some point this season.

Manchester United were thrashed 6-1 at home to Tottenham Hotspur last October. Liverpool suffered a poor run of home defeats in January. Even champions Manchester City suffered surprising losses at home to Leicester and Spurs.

One thing that has remained a constant is the excellent displays by some of the Premier League’s best players. Here, we’ll take a look at some of the players who could be in with a shout of winning the PFA Player of the Year Award:

People Sitting on Stadium Seats
Football Stadiums will begin to fill from the start of the 2021/22 season. Photo by Dom Le Roy from Pexels
Harry Kane leads the line in terms of goals scored.

Harry Kane

Arguably the frontrunner for the award this year, Harry Kane has been in exceptional form. Even though Spurs have not lived up to expectations this year, sacking manager Jose Mourinho in the process, Kane has been one of the only positives for fans. He’s playing what could be his best ever individual season and currently sits atop the scoring charts and has racked up the most assists in the league. Typically, assists come from midfielders or wingers, but Kane has run the show in attack for Spurs this year.

This graph from Google Trends shows the popularity of searches for Harry Kane and Bruno Fernandes

Bruno Fernandes

If an attacking player could snag the award from Kane this year, it will most likely be Bruno Fernandes. The Portuguese midfielder has ignited a fire in Manchester United since his arrival last January. As much as Bruno has been criticised for scoring a significant number of penalties this season, it can’t be overlooked that his impact on the team has been vital. Fernandes leads his team in goals and assists this year. Without him, United would not be sitting comfortably in second place in the league.

A look at some of Harry Kane’s best goals. Due to Tottenham Hotspur disallowing content being shared on this site, the video below is unnaccessible

Ruben Dias

One player who is up for the award that doesn’t affect the game with goals or assists is Dias. The Portuguese centre-back has been a revelation since his summer transfer to Manchester City. The City defence has been rock solid since his arrival, and he is the reason the other side of Manchester has run away with the title. What’s even more impressive is the fact Dias is only 23-years old. If anyone takes the prize away from Kane, Dias is most likely the man to do it.

Son Heung-Min

One of the most lovable players in the league, Heung-Min Son, has had a remarkable campaign. Even though Tottenham as a whole performed poorly this year, Son has been a shining light. When Kane suffered from injuries during the campaign, the South Korean was the only bright spark in the team. With 17 goals and 10 assists this season, Son can’t be overlooked as a contender for the prize. However, it is unlikely he will win ahead of his teammate Kane.

PlayerGoalsAssistsClean Sheets
Harry Kane211310
Bruno Fernandes17119
Ruben Dias1014
Son Heung-Min17106
Harry Kane leads the line with 21 goals and 13 assists

Share your love

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.