Close this search box.

Artist Pauline Bewick Receives Arts Award at Áras an Uachtaráin

Pauline Bewick with President Michael D. Higgins and Sabina Higgins

Kerry-based Irish artist Pauline Bewick has been awarded the 2019 Kerry Association In Dublin Award.

The Circular was on hand to report from the intimate event at Áras an Uachtaráin where Sabina Higgins presented the award to Ms Bewick who is known internationally for her unique and innovative style and body of work that spans over 80 years.

President Michael D. Higgins, who was celebrating his 78th birthday, was on hand to say a few words about “one of Ireland’s most talented and renowned artists, Pauline Bewick.”

“There can be no doubt that Pauline’s work provides an intriguing and profound insight into her life’s journey – into the emotions, joys, sorrows, contemplations and revelations which have driven that journey”,said the President. 

“Hers is the journey of an artist who has always followed her own path, who reflects on the world in her own unique way, eluding categorisation, refusing to fit into any one genre.”

“I am delighted that Pauline is the chosen recipient of the Kerry Association in Dublin Arts award for 2019. I can think of no person more worthy of this accolade.” 

“Pauline’s work is drawn from places as far apart as Wales, Tuscany, Turkey, China and the South Pacific, and leads us into worlds not realised. But it is Kerry that claims her, proudly calling through this award her ‘one of our own’, and may I add, how proud Sabina and I are to have her among our special friends.”

Mrs. Higgins presented a bespoke piece of Dingle Crystal to Pauline and in her address; Mrs. Higgins paid tribute to her long-time friend. 

The award was established to reward excellence in the arts by an artist/creative who was either born in Kerry or has spent a significant part of their life there. Based in Caragh Lake, just outside of Killorglin, Bewick is the third person to be honoured with this award. 

Previous recipients include writers Brendan Kennelly (2017) and Reverend Anthony Gaughan (2018). The selection committee for the award Included representatives of both the Kerry Association committee and representatives from the Arts world and was chaired by former Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Jimmy Deenihan.

Share your love

Related News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.